Photo Friday: Calabash

I wish I was a cool as her.

Zadie Smith and her very cool head wrap.

We had matching hats!

Colum McCann and me

 

A couple of weeks ago the Calabash Festival was held in Treasure Beach. It is a wonderful literary festival with local arts and crafts and some lively music and discussions. It’s also known as Elizabeth’s version of heaven. This year they had some great authors lined up, including one of my favorites, Zadie Smith. Her first novel, WHITE TEETH, is one of the best I’ve ever read (not an exaggeration!). Her mother is Jamaican and most of her stories take place in England. She almost always has a Jamaican character and talks a lot about the Jamaican diaspora, which is increasingly interesting to me. She did a reading and I had her sign one of her books. Salman Rushdie and Colum McCann (I got LET THE GREAT WORLD SPIN signed by him) were also there.

About Elizabeth Riley

It's the wonders I'm after, even if I have to bleed for them.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

