Photo Fridays: Bulla and Pear

Photo Fridays: Bulla and Pear

This is without a doubt one of my favorite Jamaican things to eat. Bulla is somewhat hard to describe, it’s sweet and gingery (I love when it is loaded with real ginger), it’s not a cake, not a bread, not really a biscuit either. Pear is a revelation. Americans call it avocado, but Jamaican pear is SO MUCH better. I was never a big avocado eater at home, but I eat it daily here. It is buttery and abundant when it is in season. Sadly, pear season is almost finished and I will surely lament. And mango season is still a ways off.

About Elizabeth Riley

It's the wonders I'm after, even if I have to bleed for them.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

